New Topic  •  Reply to Topic
Page: 1, 2, 3  Next

Forums » GarageBand Tips and Tricks » Using Loops Well

Artist

Reply with quoteReport
I started using GB with the promise that I would never use loops, but now that I've heard many songs that use loops really insanely well, I'm thinking using them wouldn't be such a bad idea after all. Does anyone have any tips on how to use loops to do things that improve upon solely writing music?
Artist Page Send Message Nov 26, 2006 | 6:22 pm
Listener

Reply with quoteReport
ask illuminator
Artist Page Send Message Nov 26, 2006 | 6:56 pm
Artist

Reply with quoteReport
OK, I use loops alot, but some people have told me that you wouldn't know to listen to it, and many people on here think I am a great guitarist, when the truth is, I use alot of looped guitars...

Editing... The first thing I do is to try and edit my loops as much as possible... Only using small sections of them where I can rather than the whole loop... With midi loops, I like to write in differences to the midi track, just an odd note here or there, or adding a small run of notes to make each copy and pasted loop have an individual feel... It really is a case of using your ears and listening to how a few notes of a loop, that with some careful editing, could fit your track just as well as the whole loop...

Transpose: GB lets you transpose your loops, meaning you can change the pitch and key of the loop without time stretching it... I use this alot to make my tracks have more movement through chord patterns etc, etc, etc. It also allows you to take a single guitar powerchord for example and edit it and transpose it so that you can construct your own riffs...

Good luck,

Ian
Latest Song: Follow Me Collab
Artist Page Send Message Mar 14, 2007 | 10:59 am
Artist

Reply with quoteReport
Making a loop.

1. I record my rythem guitar for about a minute. Making sure I'm on tempo.

2. I listen back and pick the best part I want to loop.