New Topic  •  Reply to Topic
Page: 1, 2  Next

Forums » GarageBand Tips and Tricks » I need a a general tutorial on panning. (PANNING 101)

Artist

Reply with quoteReport
I looked through the forum discussions but did not find what I was needing. I know how to adjust a track to play more left or right in Garageband(v3). It's simple enough. The thing I don't have any understanding of musically is how much to pan and which instruments in a given song should stay center. Can you direct me to a previous discussion or even something outside of iComp that explains any standards? I've been a part of iComp since 2006 and I guess it's time that I learn some mixing production skills. The tune I would like to apply this to, after I have some knowledge, is (WIP) 10 Years Now.
http://www.icompositions.com/music/song.php?sid=112812

Thank you iCompers.
Latest Song: Dirt Rust and Rock
Artist Page Send Message May 05, 2009 | 12:48 pm
Artist

Reply with quoteReport
Generally, the bass is usually in the center. The rest of the instruments can be wherever you think they sound good. Don't over-think it. A quick google found these links: http://www.tweakheadz.com/pan_control.htm

http://www.associatedcontent.com/article/1227284/mixing_tips_how_to_pan_rock_music_in.html

I like the one where you imagine your musicians and how they are arranged on the stage. I've usually played with right-handed drummers, for instance, so I usually put the high-hat and snare on the left, the kick drum in the middle and the floor tom on the right. But I've also played with a left handed drummer where everything was reversed (except the kick drum, obviously).
I listened to your song and I think the panning is fine.
Latest Song: The Book of Love
Artist Page Send Message May 05, 2009 | 1:09 pm
Artist

Reply with quoteReport